It's time for the next generation

With effect from January 04, 2023, the shareholders' meeting of Jeschke van Vliet Auctions Berlin GmbH has appointed the former member of the management Balázs Jádi as additional managing director and partner. In the future the company will operate under the name Jeschke Jádi Auctions Berlin GmbH. 

The 39-year-old historian and art historian, who can look back on more than ten years of professional experience in the company, is thus one of the youngest managing directors of an auction house in the Bundesverband der deutschen Kunstversteigerer e.V. and continues the generational change in the industry. He replaces the Parisian art dealer Hans van Vliet, who had already resigned from the management in 2014 and left the company as a shareholder in 2021.

"I am very pleased that Mr. Jádi has accepted my offer to continue shaping the promising future of our company together with me on the management board. He is largely responsible for the positive economic and content-related development of our company in recent years and represents a generation for whom digital change and internationality are a matter of course," says the company's founder and managing partner Hans-Joachim Jeschke.  

"The positive development of the past years is the result of a new joint strategy and the good and close cooperation with our customers. I would like to thank Mr. Jeschke very much for the trust he has placed in me and for the opportunity to go new ways with the auction house. Despite the challenges of the past years, the company was able to achieve its best annual result since 2009 with a total turnover of 3.3 million euros in 2022. The print Elisabeth I. by Gerhard Richter from 1966 achieved a world record in June 2022 with a hammer price of 70.000 Euro plus buyer's premium" remarks Balázs Jádi, the new managing director of the company.

­About  Balázs Jádi

Balázs Jádi comes from a collecting family and was surrounded with Modern and Contemporary Art and rare books since early childhood. After studying history, art history, and philosophy in Berlin, Potsdam, and Basel, he gained practical experience at the Friedrich Meinecke Institute of Freie Universität, the Berlin State Library, and the German Historical Museum. He joined the Society in 2012 as a research associate and in 2015 assumed the position of Head of Rare Books, Prints and Historical Photography. In 2018, he simultaneously took over as Head of International Acquisitions for the Book and Art Auctions. In 2020, he became a member of the Executive Board. In the same year, he became a member of the International League of Antiquarian Booksellers (ILAB) and the Verband Deutscher Antiquare e. V. He is married to art historian Dr. Marie Christine Jádi, who heads the artist archive of the Alfred Ehrhardt Foundation. Together they have two daughters.

­About the Jeschke Jádi Auctions Berlin GmbH 

Founded in 1989 by Hans-Joachim Jeschke, the house organizes five internationally acclaimed auctions each year. The export quota is over 50%. As a specialist auctioneer for valuable books and artistic works on paper, the company's clientele includes private collectors as well as numerous national and international museums, libraries, research institutions and scientific institutes. The house is a member of the Federal Association of German Art Auctioneers and the International League of Antiquarian Booksellers (ILAB). For its work, the auction house has been voted among the 250 Best Auction Houses Worldwide several times since 2013 by the American magazine Art + Auction.

­

Zeit für die nächste Generation

­­Mit Wirkung vom 04. Januar 2023 hat die Gesellschafterversammlung der Jeschke van Vliet Auctions Berlin GmbH das bisherige Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung Balázs Jádi zum weiteren Geschäftsführer und Partner bestellt. Die Gesellschaft wird zukünftig unter dem Namen Jeschke Jádi Auctions Berlin GmbH fortgeführt. 

Der 39-jährige Historiker und Kunsthistoriker, der auf über zehn Jahre Berufserfahrung im Unternehmen zurückblicken kann, ist damit einer der jüngsten Geschäftsführer eines Auktionshauses im Bundesverband der deutschen Kunstversteigerer e.V. und führt den Generationswechsel in der Branche weiter fort. Er löst den Pariser Kunsthändler Hans van Vliet ab, der bereits 2014 seine Geschäftsführung niedergelegt hatte und als Gesellschafter im Jahre 2021 ausgeschieden ist. 

„Ich freue mich sehr, dass Herr Jádi meinem Angebot gefolgt ist, die erfolgsversprechende Zukunft unseres Hauses gemeinsam mit mir in der Geschäftsführung weiter zu gestalten. Er ist maßgeblich für die positive wirtschaftliche und inhaltliche Entwicklung unseres Hauses in den letzten Jahren mitverantwortlich und repräsentiert eine Generation, für die der digitale Wandel und Internationalität selbstverständlich ist“, so der Gründer des Unternehmens und geschäftsführende Gesellschafter Hans-Joachim Jeschke.   

„Die positive Entwicklung der vergangenen Jahre ist das Ergebnis einer neuen gemeinsamen Strategie und der guten und engen Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Kunden. Ich danke Herrn Jeschke sehr für das mir entgegengebrachte Vertrauen und die Möglichkeit, neue Wege mit dem Auktionshaus zu gehen. Trotz der Herausforderungen der vergangenen Jahre konnte die Gesellschaft im Jahr 2022 mit einem Gesamtumsatz von 3,3 Millionen Euro ihr bestes Jahresergebnis seit 2009 erzielen. Die Graphik Elisabeth I. von Gerhard Richter aus dem Jahr 1966 erreichte im Juni 2022 dabei einen Weltrekord mit einem Zuschlag von 70.000 Euro zzgl. Aufgeld“ bemerkt Balázs Jádi der neue Geschäftsführer der Gesellschaft.

­­Über Balázs Jádi­

Balázs Jádi stammt aus einem kunstaffinen Umfeld und war bereits seit früher Kindheit mit moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst und seltenen Büchern umgeben. Nach dem Studium der Geschichte, Kunstgeschichte und Philosophie in Berlin, Potsdam und Basel sammelte er praktische Erfahrungen am Friedrich-Meinecke Institut der Freien Universität, der Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin und am Deutschen Historischen Museum. Er trat 2012 in die Gesellschaft als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter ein und übernahm 2015 die Funktion des Head of Rare Books, Prints and Historical Photography. Seit 2018 übernahm er zudem die Leitung der internationalen Akquise für die Buch- und Kunstauktionen. Im Jahr 2020 wechselte er gleichzeitig in die Geschäftsleitung. Im selben Jahr wurde er Mitglied der International League of Antiquarian Booksellers (ILAB) und des Verband Deutscher Antiquare e. V. Er ist verheiratet mit der Kunsthistorikerin 
Dr. Marie Christine Jádi, die das Künstlerarchiv der Alfred Ehrhardt Stiftung leitet. Gemeinsam haben sie zwei Töchter. 

­­Über Jeschke Jádi Auctions Berlin GmbH ­

1989 von Hans-Joachim Jeschke gegründet veranstaltet das Haus jährlich fünf international beachtete Auktionen. Die Exportquote liegt bei über 50%. Als Spezialversteigerer für wertvolle Bücher und künstlerische Arbeiten auf Papier gehören zum Kundenkreis des Hauses neben privaten Sammlern, zahlreiche nationale wie internationale Museen, Bibliotheken, Forschungseinrichtungen und wissenschaftlichen Institute. Das Haus ist Mitglied im Bundesverband deutscher Kunstversteigerer und der International League of Antiquarian Booksellers (ILAB). Für seine Arbeit wurde das Auktionshaus seit 2013 mehrfach  von der amerikanischen Zeitschrift Art + Auction unter die 250 Best Auction Houses Worldwide gewählt.