Jeschke van Vliet appoints Gabriella Rochberg as Head of Modern and Contemporary Art

As of 15 July 2022, Jeschke van Vliet appoints art historian Gabriella Rochberg as its Head of Department Modern and Contemporary Art. She brings many years of experience in the art trade and in auction houses as well as extensive networking within the art market to the position of Head of Department Modern and Contemporary Art.

"We are both delighted that with Gabriella Rochberg we have been able to attract an experienced expert as well as a dynamic personality to our house. Her appointment further strengthens our international focus on works on paper and she will continue to develop the company's digital strategy together with us," says Managing Partner Hans-Joachim Jeschke with Balázs Jádi, Member of the Executive Board at Jeschke van Vliet.  

Gabriella Rochberg studied art history, business administration and communication science in Hamburg and Berlin and completed her studies on serial American art since the 1960s in connection with its economic positioning. Already during her studies, she worked at the Jarmuschek und Partner Gallery and for Sotheby's art auctions in Vienna and acquired extensive professional expertise in her further professional stations. From 2013-2021, she worked for the Berlin auctioneer Bassenge, most recently as an expert and in the area of acquisitions in the Modern and Contemporary Art department. In August 2021, she took on a position as Senior Expert for the art dealer Jörg Maaß at the auction spin-off AD fine art auction in Berlin and was jointly responsible for acquisition and key account management for the Modern Art department from 1960 onwards.

Gabriella Rochberg prevailed over several candidates in a structured selection process lasting several months and takes over the department from art historian Anica Piontek, who will leave the company on 1 July 2022 after 12 years of successful work.

Jeschke van Vliet ernennt Gabriella Rochberg zum Head of Modern and Contemporary Art

Zum 15. Juli 2022 ernennt Jeschke van Vliet die Kunsthistorikerin Gabriella Rochberg zum Head of Department Modern and Contemporary Art. Sie bringt eine langjährige Erfahrung im Kunsthandel und in Auktionshäusern sowie eine umfangreiche Vernetzung innerhalb des Kunstmarkts für die Leitung der Abteilung für Moderne und Zeitgenössische Kunst mit.

„Wir freuen uns beide, dass wir mit Gabriella Rochberg eine erfahrene Expertin sowie eine dynamische Persönlichkeit für unser Haus gewinnen konnten. Ihre Ernennung stärkt unseren internationalen Fokus auf Papierarbeiten weiter und sie wird die Digitalstrategie des Unternehmens gemeinsam mit uns weiterentwickeln“, so der geschäftsführende Gesellschafter Hans-Joachim Jeschke mit Balázs Jádi, Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung bei Jeschke van Vliet.  

Gabriella Rochberg studierte Kunstgeschichte, Betriebswirtschaftslehre und Kommunikationswissenschaft in Hamburg und Berlin und schloss ihr Studium über die serielle US-amerikanische Kunst seit den 1960er Jahren in Zusammenhang mit ihrer ökonomischen Positionierung ab. Bereits während ihres Studiums arbeitete sie in der Galerie Jarmuschek + Partner und für Sotheby’s Kunstauktionen in Wien und erwarb in ihren weiteren beruflichen Stationen eine umfassende fachliche Expertise. Von 2013-2021 war sie für den Berliner Versteigerer Bassenge zuletzt als Expertin und im Bereich der Akquise in der Abteilung Moderne und Zeitgenössische Kunst tätig. Seit August 2021 übernahm sie eine Stelle als Senior Expert für den Kunsthandel Jörg Maaß im Auktions-Spin-Off AD fine art auction in Berlin und mitverantwortete die Akquise und das Key Account Management für den Bereich der Moderne ab 1960.

Gabriella Rochberg setzte sich in einem mehrmonatigen strukturierten Auswahlprozess gegen mehrere Kandidatinnen durch und übernimmt die Abteilung von der Kunsthistorikerin Anica Piontek, die zum 1. Juli 2022 das Unternehmen nach 12 Jahren erfolgreicher Tätigkeit verlässt.